Patrick Quilter

Rotary & Rotaract Join Forces for Needy Children

 Newsletter Content  Comments Off on Rotary & Rotaract Join Forces for Needy Children
Aug 102018
Myrtle Beach, SC – Carolina Forest Rotary Club teamed up with Coastal Carolina University’s Rotaract Club today to purchase six carts full of much need school supplies for students at Carolina Forest and Waccamaw Elementary Schools. Both clubs are champions of children and education. The event is called P-Cubed (paper, pens, pencils, note pads) and the purpose is to provide school supplies for economically disadvantaged children identified by school administrators. Volunteers from each club met at 6:30 am before work at Walmart on Hwy 501 in Conway to purchase supplies that are difficult for some families to afford. Volunteers then delivered the supplies to the schools.
Interested in service to our community? Visit Meetings are weekly on Wednesdays from 7 to 8 am and include a buffet breakfast at Legends Golf Resort. Check us out!
Pictured Above: Carolina Forest Rotary and CCU Rotaract Clubs join forces to purchase school supplies for underprivileged
Children in Conway and Myrtle Beach.
Pictured: Christopher Rabon (Treasurer) and Brooke McIntyre (President) of CCU’s Rotaract Club help purchase school supplies for needy children. The event is held annually and underscores the club’s focus on children and education.

Chicora Rotary and Street Reach

 Newsletter Content  Comments Off on Chicora Rotary and Street Reach
Aug 032018

Pictured are the busy Chicora Rotarians working at the Street Reach facility that serves and shelters the homeless in the Myrtle Beach area.  This is a quarterly project for the Chicora Rotary Club this Rotary year. We are proud to be able to help our less fortunate neighbors who are experiencing difficult times. Huge Thanks to Frank Clark for organizing the Street Reach service project. Frank spent the afternoon running around in the pouring rain to gather and deliver supplies. Thanks also to Alice Yerkes and Brightwater Retirement Community for donating potato salad and baked beans. Last, but certainly not least, thanks to those Rotarians who were not deterred by the rain and came out to prep, cook, and serve. Eight members fed about 130 hungry people who were super grateful. Well done team Chicora!

Chicora Rotary Speaker Macie McMillan

 Newsletter Content  Comments Off on Chicora Rotary Speaker Macie McMillan
Aug 032018

The Chicora Rotary again had the pleasure of inviting Macie McMillan and  her younger sister to tell us  about their pet project that has turn into a large scale operation. It all started several years ago when Macie. who is a 7th grader started the project, by asking  her friends and family to bring backpacks instead of presents to her birthday party.  The next Summer she began activity asking everyone she saw at church and in her neighborhood to sponsor a backpack.  This little entrepreneur grew this great little idea into a major funding of assistance for less fortunate classmates   To date she and her program have donated 1138 backpacks to schools in Horry County   Every year she comes to Chicora Roary for assistance,  last year we funded enough to purchase 30 backpacks and this year we gave her funds enough to buy  24 backpacks.  These funds only represent those funds collected at the meeting. she gave her address to the entire club so they could send in additional funds,if they desired.   The Chicora wishes Macie well on the wonderful civic project.

Rotary Foundation Recipients

 Newsletter Content  Comments Off on Rotary Foundation Recipients
Aug 032018

The Chicora Rotary is very proud of our participation in the Paul Harris Foundation.  Pictured are two Rotarians  Dale Zelglin  and Tom Leath , both Past Presidents, receiving their PHL pins, Dale achieved the 3rd PHF award and Tom achieved his 7th PHF award   The first picture shows Dale receiving his while the second picture show Tom receiving his award  Some statistics that the Chicora Rotary Club is proud of include, We have 48 PHF, 42 of them are multiple PHF Fellows, we are a 100% PHF Club, we have been a 100% PHF Sustaining member club for 8 straight years.   Our club and club members have contributed over $401,300.00 to the Rotary Foundation since we were chartered in 1979.   This is no small task but with the excellent support of the members the boards the presidents and the outstanding leadership of our Foundation officer ,Mr Marc Smith ,we have achieved almost impossible goals.


Rotary Speaker Patrolman Kenneth Harlow

 Newsletter Content  Comments Off on Rotary Speaker Patrolman Kenneth Harlow
Aug 032018

Pictured is our past president Jory Taylor and speaker patrolman Kenneth Harlow and canine Roscoe and the second picture is Roscoe and a couple of his  cute little friends. Patrolman Harlow is a member of the canine team with Roscoe He is certified in drug detection, tracking and article searches. This college educated Myrtle Beach police officer is an Intrical part of the excellent police force protecting the resort town of Myrtle Beach. The Chicora Rotary is very proud to be closely associated with patrolman Harlow and the Myrtle Beach Police Department. The Rotarians feel safer with Roscoe on patrol.

Special thanks to Patrolman Harlow and Roscoe

Chicora Rotary Club Seaker, David Roper

 Newsletter Content  Comments Off on Chicora Rotary Club Seaker, David Roper
Jul 272018

Pictured are Chicora Rotary President Angelika Senn and speaker David Roper director of public service and chief of police for Coastal Carolina University.  Mr. Roper manages, plans, coordinates and implements all public safety for Horry County Georgetown Technical College and Coastal University. His staff oversees safety for faculty, staff and visitors and he is responsible for all police/security for all athletic events. He has a depth of experience with SLED with 40 agents reporting to him.   He was also a SLED SWAT team member and also as a detective for the Horry County Police Department for three years .

The Chicora Rotary was very pleased to have such an outstanding  individual speak at our club.

Chicora Rotary Club Speaker James Furry

 Newsletter Content  Comments Off on Chicora Rotary Club Speaker James Furry
Jul 272018

Pictured our James Furry retired supervisory Special Agent for the  Federal Bureau of investigation ,his wife and President Angelica Senn  .Jim brought us up-to-date with what’s happening currently in the FBI he went over his extensive career of over 40 years of service  This service included surveillance of a Russian officer countering  Italian organize crime in the US and developing an overall strategy to prevent money laundering in the United States In view of today’s headlines it was a very interesting topic and the Chicora Rotary was very pleased to have Mr. fury as a speaker  Mr. Furry has published his memoirs in a book called Fidelity Bravery and Integrity,  My Story.

© Copyright 2013-2018 by Rotary District 7770 Rotary International District 7770, Eastern South Carolina