Mar 312016
Capital Rotary was honored twice at the recent 2016 conference for Rotary District 7770.  The district includes 80 clubs and about 5,000 Rotarians in 25 eastern counties of the state.  Capital Rotary was named first runner-up for Club of the Year in the “medium sized” category, based on a listing of programs and accomplishments. A past president of the club – Ione Cockrell – was presented a plaque by District Governor Rod Funderburk to recognize her selection as 2015-2016 District Rotarian of the Year.  This award is given to one individual each year who has demonstrated exemplary humanitarian service and personal volunteer efforts.  Cockrell was cited for playing a key role in relief efforts after many parts of District 7770 suffered significant devastation from rainfall and floods in October 2015. Cockrell, a financial planner, joined Capital Rotary in 1993 and was its 2000-2001 president.  She has been a significant donor to the Rotary Foundation, a not-for-profit corporation that supports humanitarian, educational and cultural exchange programs worldwide. Ione Cockrell Honored Columbia Capital Rotary Capital Medium      
© Copyright 2013-2021 by Rotary District 7770 Rotary International District 7770, Eastern South Carolina