Dec 142015

Excitement was in the air on November 23, as Eau Claire North Columbia Rotarians celebrated their 30th annual tribute to student achievement. More than 50 young people from Eau Claire Cluster schools entertained us, cheered in delight and proudly displayed certificates and treasured Kindle readers awarded to them for their successes in the classroom and in the community.

Joining Rotarians in the celebration were Richland One Superintendent Dr. Craig Witherspoon, Columbia City Councilman Sam Davis, business and community leaders, principals from each of the nine area schools and, of course, parents who all proudly shared in their children’s success.

The Thanksgiving tradition began in 1985 as collaboration with College Place United Methodist Church and included a dinner for residents of local community care homes who joined the students and families for fellowship and recognition. Over the years, ECNC Rotary has presented honors to two generations of area students. This year the club and its sponsors provided the Kindle Fire readers to further enrich academic involvement by students.

Many thanks to all our schools for their continued dedication to nourishing the minds and bodies of our youth, to the community for its inclusive support of our schools, to College Place UMC for its ongoing commitment to the spiritual and academic growth of area students, and to Eau Claire North Columbia Rotarians for making this historic event a success.


E.E. Taylor72 2224


Edward E. Taylor Elementary School students were among nearly 50 young people to be recognized in November at ECNC Rotary’s 30th Annual Thanksgiving Celebration of Student Achievement. Pictured are (l-r, rear) Richland One Superintendent Dr. Craig Witherspoon, Eau Claire Community Council President Christie Savage, North Columbia Business Association Chairman Donald Gist, EE Taylor Principal Debbie Hunter, and Rotary President Coco Mann. Students pictured are Taijvey Wilkins, Ashleigh Williams, Trevor Johnson, Marcus Pearson, Shaniya Williams and Zanobia Richardson

See more pictures of our honorees on our Facebook page at


© Copyright 2013-2021 by Rotary District 7770 Rotary International District 7770, Eastern South Carolina