Jun 222018

The Rotary Club of Cheraw held its annual high school scholarship program on June 20 and named this year’s recipients.  Two students from Chesterfield High School were selected and four students were selected from Cheraw High School and are listed respectively.  Jonathan Monroe Walter (Northeastern Technical College) received the Jean Laney Scholarship that is awarded to a student who enrolls at NETC.  Ashlyn Shea Evans (USC-Columbia) received the Lloyd C. Irick Memorial Scholarship. Victor Santos (Lander College) received the first Teresa Ingram Memorial Scholarship.  Tallon Campbell (Limestone College) received the Tom Brewer Scholarship.  Molly Elisabeth O’Neal (USC-Columbia) received the Charles Ingram Memorial Scholarship.   Kaitlyn Susana Atkinson (Anderson College) received the Fred Harris Memorial Scholarship.

Each of the students introduced the family members who were in attendance with them, named their chosen schools, and intended programs of academic study.  According to the committee chair, Anthony Harris, the reviewers were challenged with selecting the awardees due to the high level of academic achievement and community service of the many applicants who sought financial assistance.  (Photo shows all recipients, Anthony Harris, and club president, Hough.)

Among the visitors at the weekly Rotary meeting was Jeffrey Davis, a former Rotary Scholarship winner.  He shared his memories of winning his scholarship and the influence in his desire to return to Cheraw as a working professional.

For the second week, a new member was inducted into the club.  Robin Quigley, sponsored by Mel West, is a controller for FBI Construction.  She has a Master’s Degree in Accounting, is a former Rotarian (Rotary Club of Bennettsville), and is a former middle school and high school math teacher. (Photo shows Robin, Mel, and Hough.)

© Copyright 2013-2021 by Rotary District 7770 Rotary International District 7770, Eastern South Carolina