Jun 212016

The Rotary Club of Orangeburg Morning celebrated its 20th Anniversary in conjunction with their Annual Service Above Self Banquet June 16th on the campus of South Caroline State University.  The club annually recognizes Law Enforcement Officers of the Year from the Orangeburg County Sheriff’s Department, Orangeburg Public Safety, and SC Highway Patrol. This year’s recipients were Corporal Karl Stoller, Corporal Albert Black, and Sergeant Michael Tomson.  We are indebted to dedicated law enforcement officers like these.

The club also recognized Brenda L. Williams as the club’s 2016 Rotarian of the Year.  The award is given each year to the club member who exhibits “Service Above Self” in their daily activities and promotes Rotary by their action, involvements and leadership.  Club President Lee L. Given commented that, “It’s an honor to recognize each of our awardees this evening for their many contributions in making Orangeburg County not only a safer place for us to live, work and play but better place for us all.”

In 1996, the Rotary Club of Orangeburg, led by then President Paul A. Miller, helped to Charter the new Orangeburg-Morning Club with approximately 20 members.  Original Charter Members Bill Barrett and Ralph Faulling were in attendance at the dinner and continue to remain active within the club along with several other Charter Members.





© Copyright 2013-2021 by Rotary District 7770 Rotary International District 7770, Eastern South Carolina