May 302014

Six area Richland District Two high school seniors were awarded a $1,500 scholarship from the Rotary

Club of Spring Valley at the club’s meeting on May 8. The scholarship recipients from Spring Valley High

School are: Michael Hoffman, who will attend Wofford College to major in English; Matthew Mujica

who will attend the University of South Carolina majoring in International Business; Anne Petitgout

who will attend Clemson University majoring in Engineering; Alexis Rutnik who will attend Winthrop

University majoring in Sports Medicine and Hannah Rutland who will attend the University of South

Carolina majoring in Exercise Science. LaceyAnne Robinson of Ridge View High School was also awarded

a scholarship. She will attend Wofford College majoring in Chemistry.

Awards were based on the student’s academics, extracurricular involvement, financial need and an

interview. Selections were made by members of the club’s scholarship committee led by Rotarian Bobby

Curtis. The club provides applications to high school guidance counselors in February and selections are

made annually in April. Spring Valley Rotary has been awarding these scholarships for the past twenty-
six years with proceeds from the club’s annual pecan sale.

Founded in 1978, the Rotary Club of Spring Valley has more than 115 members dedicated to service

above self. Rotary is the world’s oldest service organization (founded in 1905) and also one of the

largest global humanitarian service organizations. Visit or contact Derek

Raper at 803-528-4501 or by email at for more information. The club

meets for an excellent buffet lunch and program every Thursday from 1 to 2 p.m. in the Grand Hall of

Northeast Presbyterian Church located at 601 Polo Road.


Photo caption:

Graduating seniors who received a 2014 Rotary scholarship are (left to right): Spring Valley Rotary

Scholarship Chairman Bobby Curtis, Scholarship Committee member Mary Dailey, scholarship recipients

Anna Petitgout, Hannah Rutland, Matthew Mujica, Alexis Rutnik, Michael Hoffman, LaceyAnne Robinson

and Scholarship Committee member Patricia Fernald.

© Copyright 2013-2021 by Rotary District 7770 Rotary International District 7770, Eastern South Carolina